The production of furniture from solid wood requires a lot of experience and sensitivity. Therefore, INCH are closely working together with PIKA for the manufacturing of their furniture. A longstanding partnership has been established between INCH and PIKA, based on the exchange of knowhow. PIKA is domiciled in the seaport town Semarang on the island of Java. 

PIKA is built on a unique principle: their production workshops – where INCH furniture items are created – finance and support the educational facilities. PIKA is among the best schools countrywide and is therefore held in high esteem. Every year, around 75 apprentices successfully complete their education as carpenters, furniture draughtsmen and furniture designers.

The draft for a furniture piece follows a clear idea. Form and function come about in the process of sketching and designing. In this area, there is an enormous interest in exchange at PIKA. INCH support PIKA with lectures, workshops and projects in the fields of ecology, innovation and design in terms of a knowhow transfer. 

With the craftsmen and the workshop leaders, too, there is an inspiring co-operation: work processes are being discussed and refined on-site, innovative construction and handling methods are developed jointly and then put into practice. In so doing, both parties have the possibility of learning something from the other.

The value creation in the manufacturing of the furniture is not only measurable in numbers, since it rests to a high degree on mutual respect and interest. Much in the same manner functions the co-operation with ATMI, a technical school for mechanical engineering, located in the town of Solo. The furniture mountings and metal base are made here.

The final assembly of the furniture components from teak wood and metal is carried out in Basel in the INCH workshops. Here, the furniture is put together and the surfaces are once more given a finish. The production in Indonesia is always accompanied by INCH so that a quality control takes place even before shipping to Basel. After the final assembly in the Basel workshops follows the quality re-check of the finished furniture piece.

Special work for which neither PIKA nor ATMI are specialists, are effected in the Basel region. Saddlery work, for instance, for the cushioning of the SHANGHAI LOUNGE CHAIR, is carried out exclusively by a saddlery in Basel and the grey cast iron pieces for the SANGA table are cast at the Erzenberg foundry in Liestal. The rattan trimmings of the handle of the LORO sidetable are made at the Basel Home for the Blind.

PIKA (Pendidikan Industri Kayu Atas) = Higher Education Vocational School for industrial woodworking
ATMI (Akademi Tehnik Mesin Industri) = Academy for mechanical engineering

La production de meubles en bois massif exige une grande expérience et une sensibilité affinée. C’est pourquoi INCH travaille en étroite collaboration avec PIKA pour la fabrication de ses produits. Entre INCH et PIKA existe une longue relation partenariale basée sur un échange de savoir-faire par delà les frontières. PIKA est domicilié à Semarang, une ville portuaire de l’île de Java. PIKA fonctionne selon un principe unique en son genre : l’unité de production dans laquelle sont fabriqués les meubles INCH finance et soutient l’unité de formation. 

PIKA est l’une des meilleures écoles du pays et jouit en conséquence d’une excellente réputation. Environ 75 apprentis y terminent chaque année avec succès leur formation de menuisiers-ébénistes, dessinateurs de meubles ou designer de meubles. 

L’ébauche d’une pièce de mobilier obéit généralement une idée précise. La forme et la fonction naissent au cours du processus de l’ébauche et de la mise en forme. PIKA manifeste en l’occurrence un grand intérêt pour l’échange. INCH soutient PIKA par des conférences, des workshops et des projets sur les thèmes de l’écologie, de l’innovation et du design, au sens d’un transfert de savoir-faire. 

Une collaboration stimulante a lieu aussi avec les artisans et les responsables d’ateliers : les process de travail sont discutés et affinés sur place, des méthodes de construction et de traitement innovatrices sont développées et mises en application en commun. Les deux parties ont ainsi la possibilité d’apprendre l’une de l’autre. 

La création de valeur dans la production de meubles n’est pas seulement quantifiable en chiffres, dans la mesure où elle repose aussi en grande partie sur un intérêt et un respect mutuel. La collaboration avec ATMI, une école spécialisée dans la construction de machines et domiciliée dans la ville de Solo, fonctionne selon le même principe. Les accessoires et les socles des meubles en métal sont fabriqués ici pour INCH. 

Le montage final des composants des meubles en bois de teck et en métal est effectué à Bâle, dans les ateliers INCH. Les meubles sont assemblés ici et les surfaces y sont traitées une dernière fois. La production en Indonésie est supervisée par INCH sur place, permettant un contrôle de qualité dès avant le transport pour Bâle. Le contrôle de qualité final est effectué dans les ateliers de Bâle, après le montage final.  

Des travaux spéciaux, dans lesquels ni PIKA ni ATMI ne sont spécialisés, sont réalisés par des spécialistes dans la région de Bâle. Ainsi par exemple, les travaux de sellerie pour les coussins des SHANGHAI LOUNGE CHAIRS sont effectués par une sellerie à Bâle, et les pièces en fonte grise pour la table SANGA sont coulées à Liestal, dans la fonderie Erzenberg. Les garnitures en osier de la poignée de la table basse LORO sont fabriquées par le Blindenheim Basel (Ateliers d’aveugles de Bâle). 

PIKA = Pendidikan Industri Kayu Atas (Ecole supérieure pour le traitement industriel du bois)ATMI = Akademi Tehnik Mesin Industri (Académie pour la construction de machines)